first team / Awards

5 players nominated for Ballon d'Or

Published on the 16 October 2006 à 18:00 by BV

On Tuesday, France Football magazine announced its list of 50 nominations for the player that will succeed Ronaldinho as the Ballon d’Or, the most prestigious individual award in European football. Five Lyon players have been selected to find the best player of the 2005-06 season.

Grégory Coupet, Cris, Juninho, Tiago and Florent Malouda join Mahamadou Diarra who has also been rewarded for his great season at Lyon before joining Real Madrid. The Malian, along with Samuel Eto’o and Ludovic Giuly, is one of the few players selected who didn’t play in the World Cup.

Only three goalkeepers were nominated: Gianluigi Buffon, Jens Lehmann and Grégory Coupet.

Thanks to the five players selected, Olympique Lyonnais is the third most represented club behind Chelsea and Barcelona.

French and Italians dominate the list. The two finalists of the 2006 World Cup have 11 and seven representatives, respectively.

The complete list: Ballack, Buffon, Cahill, Cannavaro, Chevtchenko, J. Cole, Coupet, Cris, C. Ronaldo, Deco, M. Diarra, Drogba, Essien, Eto'o, Fabregas, Gallas, Gattuso, Gerrard, Giuly, Grosso, Henry, Juninho, Kakà, Klose, Lahm, Lampard, Lehmann, Makelele, Malouda, Mendez, Messi, Pirlo, Podolski, Puyol, Ribéry, Ronaldinho, Riquelme, Robben, Rooney, Sagnol, Schweinsteiger, Terry, Thuram, Tiago, Toni, Torres, Vieira, Villa, Zambrotta and Zidane.

Final verdict on November 27.