first team / Laon - OL D-2

Last 32 of the Coupe de France

Published on the 19 January 2007 à 09:25 by R.B

It’s the last 32 of the Coupe de France this weekend with 2 all-L1 clashes on the program... OL, on the other hand, will play a minnow...

It’s the 90th installation of this competition (89 finals; the one in 92 wasn’t played). 12 former winners are still in the running: OM (10 wins), PSG (7), Lille (5), Monaco (5), Nantes (3), OL (3), Bordeaux (3), Nice (3), Strasbourg (3), Sedan (2), Montpellier (1), Sochaux (1). Lens, Amiens, Calais, Orléans and Valenciennes, still in competition, are former finalists. That makes 17 of the last 32 clubs that have played in at least one final. Title-holders PSG are still there, too.

29 players who have previously lifted « the Old Lady » are still in the competition: Landreau, Gillet, Olembe, Carrière, Da Rocha, M’Bami, Paulo César and Laslandes have won it twice. Lilian Laslandes won it in 94 and 96 with Auxerre !

Ricardo, manager of Bordeaux, won it as coach of PSG in 98. Laurent Banide, manager of Monaco, remembers his father Gérard winning it in 1980 with AS Monaco aganst Orléans (3-0).

Also, the following managers won the Coupe as players: Ricardo in 93 with PSG; Paul Le Guen in 93, 95 and 98 with PSG; Papin in 89 with OM; Kombouaré in 93 and 95 with PSG; Emon in 80 with Monaco; Puel in 91 with Monaco.

Amiens – Nantes
Le Mans – OL
Bordeaux – Niort
Montpellier – Nice
Strasbourg – Lille
Romorantin – VA
Calais – Sedan
Orléans – Lens
Laon – OL
Sochaux – Lyon-La Duchère
Jarville – Libourne
Clermont – Rodez
Bois-Guillaume – Vannes
Pontivy – Montceau
Monaco – TFC
PSG - Gueugnon
More news