first team / Press review

L'équipe’s 2006 Team of the Year

Published on the 27 December 2006 à 10:30 by SC

L’Equipe publishes its Ligue 1 Team of the Year 2006 today. OLhas scored a record, with nine of the 11 players named from its squad. Only Pauleta and Ribéry made it in the side from other clubs.

The Selection: Coupet, Réveillère, Cris, Squillaci, Abidal, Juninho, Tiago, Malouda and Fred. “This is the first time,” explains the sports daily, “that one club is so heavily representend in out Team of the Year.” Last season, there were 8 OL players in the 11.

Gérard Houllier is named as Manager of the Year 2006. He succeeds Claude Puel. In a long interview, the OL manager speaks about his work at OL: “I’ll tell you a secret: what I do at this club now, I could not have done 20 years ago.”

“It’s tough to be at Lyon. If it weren;t tough, Ol would have had the same manager for 10 years.” “I drive an F-1 car, as my president would say. It goes so fast that I can’t afford the slightest mistake… »